Amazing Facts About the Original Six teams of the NHL

If you are a die-hard hockey fan, you must have heard of or know something about the original six. Contrary to most people’s beliefs, the teams that make the original 6 are not exactly the first teams to have been a part of the league. However, they are the oldest teams, and that is why they are unique. Here are a few facts about each team.

The Toronto Maple Leafs

The blue and white team was founded in 1917 and joined the NHL league in the same year. Originally, the team was known by the name, the Arenas. Later on, its name kept changing until the Maple Leafs stuck since 1927. It has won 62 players to the Hockey Hall of Fame and taken home 13 cups.

The Montreal Canadiens

The team was founded in 1909 and become the first-ever team on the NHL in 1917. Its success is undeniable and has won the Stanely cup 24 times since the league began.

The Boston Bruins

Boston Bruised was born in 1924 and joined the national league the same year. Its colours are black, and gold and they have taken the Stanley Cup home six times.

The Detroit Red Wings

Just as their name suggests, the team’s colours are red and white. It was formed and joined the major league in 1926 and has since had 19 championships.

The Chicago Blackhawks

Originally, the team was known as the Hawks since 1926 when it was formed and joined the league. Its name was later changed to the merged name, Blackhawks in 1986. It has 16 division championships and six Stanley trophy records.

The New York Rangers

Though the last team of the original six to join the league, it was the first franchise from the United States to join the NHL and win the Stanley cup in 1927 and 1928.